All eyes were on SASCOC in June as they announced another star-studded team to travel to the London Paralympic Games.

At 62, the team is slightly down on the 66 athletes who competed at Beijing in 2008, and only includes: athletics, cycling, equestrian, rowing, swimming,wheelchair basketball and wheelchair tennis.

SASCOC CEO, Mr Tubby Reddy has no doubts that the team would return triumphant. Although qualifying standards are high, our Paralympians have a global reputation for excellence and I know they will once again do us proud.They've fought long and hard to get into this team and we shall see the rewards at these Paralympics.

Introducing the team, SASCOC President Mr Gideon Sam said, "When it comes to Paralympic teams our men and women have done us proud time and time again."

"At the last Paralympics in Beijing we sent a team of 66 and between them they brought back 30 medals, 21 of which were gold. This is the high standard of excellence that we have come to expect from our Paralympians."

"Sadly we don't have a huge Paralympic sporting culture in this country.But, having said that, we thankfully have, in the shape of Oscar Pistorius and Natalie du Toit, two global superstars who manage to keep the Paralympic flame burning."

Sam acknowledged the Paralympic sponsors. "They have always been there intimes of hardship, stood rock-solid behind our Paralympians."

Minister of Sport and Recreation, Fikile Mbalula, spoke of the underperformance of our Olympians when compared to our Paralympians saying: "You have raised our flag and our colours into higher heights."

The London Paralympic Games open 29 August and end 9 September.

Team SouthAfrica:

Athletics: Tshepo Bhebe, Dyan Buis, Andrea Dalle Ave,Pieter du Preez, Charl du Toit, Arnu Fourie, Ilse Hayes, Hilton Langenhoven, Anrune Liebenberg, Michael Louwrens, Teboho Mokgalagadi, Jan Nehro (guide: Duane Fortuin), Zandile Nhlapo, Jonathan Ntutu, Oscar Pistorius, Anika Pretorius, Samkelo Radebe, Casper Schutte, Union Sekailwe, Zanele Situ, ZivanSmith, Marius Stander, Duane Strydom, Fanie van der Merwe, Chenelle vanZyl. Manager: Dion Bishop. Coaches: Suzanne Ferreira, Zelda Hansen, Hennie Koekemoer, Karin le Roux, Ampie Louw. Team Assistant: Neels Matthyser. Helper: Illse du Preez

Cycling:¨Roxy Burns, Madre Carinus, Stuart McCreadie,Jaco Nel, Ernst van Dyk, Gerhard Viljoen. Manager: Mike Burns. Coach: Ricky Kulsen, Mechanic: Pieter Jansen

Equestrian:¨Anthony Dawson,Philipa Johnson, Marion Milne, Wendy Moller Manager: Tracey Cumming. Coach:Chris Haazen. Vet: Sheelagh Higgerty. Grooms: Enoch Cele, Anton Chimbuanda, Elizabeth Newsome, Teri Smith

Rowing: Sandra Khumalo. Manager/coach: Marco Galeone

Swimming: Renette Bloem, Charl Bouwer, Natalie du Toit, Emily Gray, Achmat Hassiem, Hendri Herbst, Marike Naude, Kevin Paul, Shireen Sapiro, Tadhg Slattery. Manager: Queeneth Ndlovu. Coach: Karoly Toros. Coach/Tapper: Karin Hugo. Tapper/Helper: Eeden Meyer

Wheelchair basketball:¨Justin Govender, Siphamandla Gumbi, Stuart Jellows, Kyle Louw, Luvuyo Mbande, Gift Mooketsi, Richard Nortje, Kobus Oeschger, Marius Papenfus, Marcus Retief, JacoVelloen. Manager: Willie Riechert. Coach: Patrick Fick. Assistant coach:Shadrack Moepeng. Technical coach: Franck Belen

Wheelchair Tennis:¨Evans Maripa,Sydwell Mathonsi, Kgothatso Montjane, Lucas Sithole. Manager/coach: Holger Losch. Assistant coach: Khotso Matshego.

General Team Managementâ:¨Chef de Mission: Pieter Badenhorst,¨Project manager: Vinesh Maharaj,¨Manager(logistics): Clifford Cobers,Logistics: Madira Sehlapelo, Manager (athletes services): Chantelle Jardim, Athlete services: Dumisani Mtwa,¨Chief medicalofficer: Wayne Derman, Chief physiotherapist: Grace Hughes, Doctor: PaulMaphoto,¨Physiotherapists: Given Baloyi, Edwin Bodha, Greshne Davids, Shantal Edwards, Dan Ntseke, Evah Ramashala, Classifier: Tarina van der Stockt.